Luxol, ZRQ Bormla edge closer to University of Malta

Luxol St Andrew’s and ŻRQ Bormla moved closer to Enemed Futsal League leaders University of Malta ACJ Group when they won their respective encounters.

Luxol found it more difficult than expected to beat Birżebbuġa Futsal 2-1. The champions were even trailing 0-1 but managed to turn the score in their favour with goals by Marwan Telisi and Michael Borg. Sebastian David Jimenez had put Birżebbuġa ahead.

On the other hand, ZRQ Bormla registered a comfortable 6-0 win over Sliema Futsal. Experienced player Jovica Milijic scored four with Karl Luke Schembri and Karl Sciortino scoring the other two goals.

Swieqi obtained an 8-1 victory against Gzira United Santa Margerita. Gregory Busuttil scored a hat-trick for the Owls with Dylan Pace scoring a double. Brayan Stiven Rivera, Andrew Abela and Isaac Buhagiar also put their names down among the scorers’ list. Nazzareno Abela scored the only goal for Gzira who are still looking for their first points during this season.

Ta’ Xbiex Futsal disappointed once again in a 12-5 loss to Marsaskala Futsal. Craig Pickard was inspirational for the Southsiders when he scored four goals with Amir Ashtiyani notching a hat-trick . George Aquilina scored twice while Owen Duca, Alessio Restuccia and Bertram Azzopardi scoring the other goals. Ta Xbiex scored their goals through Kurt Bartolo, Glenn Bonello, Liam Caruana, Christian Wismayer and Dexter O’Brien.

The Malta Under-19 selection defeated the Under-18 selection 4-3. It was a very balanced game with the Under 19s turning the score in their favour in the second half. Collin Sammut, Mason Agius, Shiraz Attard and Amin Louati scored for the Under-19s while the Under 18s scored their goals thanks to a brace by Brave Azzopardi and a goal by Giorgio Comes.


University of Malta ACJ Group 24, Luxol St Andrew’s, ŻRQ Bormla 22, Swieqi United FC Futsal 21, Birżebbuġa St Peter’s 18, Ta’ Xbiex Futsal Izola Bank 12, Malta Under-19 selection, Marsaskala Futsal 7, Malta Under-18 selection 3, Sliema Wanderers FC Futsal 2, Gżira United Santa Margherita 0