IZIBET Amateur League: St. George’s join Kirkop United in second place

St. George’s joined Kirkop United in second place in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they defeated them 3-1 in a direct clash at the Centenary Stadium on Friday.

Timothy Thomas put St. George’s ahead five minutes from the end of the first round and Neil Buttigieg doubled the score on the 64th. Timothy Thomas converted a penalty on the 71st with Dhonatan Santos da Hora scoring a consolation goal for Kirkop on the 74th.

In another match, San Gwann returned to winning ways as they defeated Ghaxaq 6-1.

Shamizen Buhagiar put Ghaxaq ahead after just one minute but San Gwann were quick to equalise through Nezar Fawzi Abouhaisa a minute later. Abouhaisa handed San gwann the lead five minutes from the end of the first half and Syzmon Grzegorz Plocica made it 3-1 on the 56th. Matteo Vella extended the lead a minute later with Abouhaisa completing his hat-trick on the hour. Denilson Borg scored the sixth goal for San Gwann on the 76th.

Mgarr lead the way with 23 points, followed by Kirkop and St. george;son 19, Qormi and Marsaskala 18, San Gwann 17, 16, Gharghur 15, Vittoriosa 13, Dingli 7, Ghaxaq and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables