University of Malta ACJ Group maintain perfect record

University of Malta ACJ Group maintained their perfect record with an eleventh win in as many matches as they defeated Swieqi United 5-3.

The Universitarians stay five points clear of champions Luxol as the second phase of the Enemed Futsal League got underway. They established a 3-2 lead by the end of the first half, adding another two goals in the second half to secure the three points.

Cleavon Portelli scored twice while Guillherme Fonseca, Gia Nikvashvili and an own goal by Rodney Debono handed the University of Malta the three points. Swieqi scored their goals through a double by Bryan Stiven and an own goal by Melvin Borg.

Photo courtesy of Joe Borg

Luxol returned to winning ways after last week’s defeat against the University of Malta as they beat Birżebbuġa St Peter’s Futsal 10-0. Victor Oliveira Dias netted a hat-trick, Andre Ciancio was the author of a double while Andy Mangion, Jefferson Breno, Maicon, Luke Gatt and Robert Stoyanov added more goals for their team.

Meanwhile in the Enemed Challenger League, Ta’ Xbiex Futsal Izola Bank defeated the Maltese Under-19 selection 4-1. Stefi Cale scored twice, with Liam Caruana and Juan David Bautista adding more goals for Ta’ Xbiex. Mason Agius scored the only goal for the Under-19s.

Marsaskala Futsal, on the other hand, beat the Malta Under-18 team 5-2. Owen Duca, Amir Ashtiyani, Ryan Pisani, Craig Pickard and Ryan Marques scored the goals for the Southsiders while Brave Azzopardi scored a double for the Under-18s.

Sliema Wanderers Futsal  beat neighbours Gżira United Santa Margherita 8-5. Karl Azzopardi, Juan Diego Letrado and James Brincat scored twice for Sliema with Juan Poveda and Mohamed Kara also scoring for the Blues. Yessous Camilleri scored four goals for Gzira while Ayrton Duncan also put his name down among the scorers.


University of Malta ACJ Group 33, Luxol St Andrew’s 28, ŻRQ Bormla 25, Swieqi United FC Futsal 21, Birżebbuġa St Peter’s 18.


Marsaskala Futsal 16, Ta’ Xbiex Futsal Izola Bank 15, Malta U19 Selection 10, Malta U18 Selection 3, Sliema Wanderers FC Futsal 5, Gżira United Santa Margherita 3.