IZIBET Amateur League: Marsaskala move second in Group B

Marsaskala moved second in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League following an impressive 5-2 win over Qormi at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Joshua Micallef put Marsaskala ahead on the 7th and Dario Aquilina converted a penalty on the 23rd. Jayden Borg reduced the gap on the 33rd but Dario Aquilina made it 3-1. Steven Schembri narrowed the gap on the 56th but Joshua Micallef made it 4-2 on the 62nd and two minutes from time, Federico Galea sealed the issue with a fifth goal.

San Gwann scored six minutes in added time to rescue a point in a 1-1 draw with Vittoriosa Stars in another match at the Sirens Stadium. Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe put Vittoriosa ahead on the 26th but Syzmon Grzegorz Plocica equalised on the 96th.

St. George’s came back from two goals down to rescue a point in a 2-2 draw with Ghaxaq at the Charles Abela Stadium. Jurgen Gerada put Ghaxaq ahead on the 12th and Luke Zahra equalised eight minutes later. Rudy Cassar reduced the gap on the 27th and Erson Schembri equalised ten minutes in the second half.

In another match at the Charles Abela Stadium, Gharghur defeated Ta’ Xbiex 3-0 thanks to a brace by Jayden Aquilina on the 20th and 39th and Nicholas Formosa on the 58th.

Mgarr lead the way with 34 points, followed by Marsaskala on 33, Qormi 31, Gharghur 28, San Gwann 26, Vittoriosa 24, St. George’s 22, Kirkop 20, Dingli and Ghaxaq 7, Ta’ Xbiex 6.