Enemed Futsal League: University of Malta ACJ Group march on

University of Malta ACJ Group clinched their twelfth win of the season in the Enemed Futsal Premier League after beating Birżebbuġa St Peter’s 7-2.

This was the second game of the Universitarians in the Elite Round phase with David Bobokhidze’s boys maintaining their consistency.

Guillherme Fonseca scored three goals, Raimundo da Silva was the author of a double while Gia Nikvashvili and Steven Camilleri scored one each for their side. Kieran Debono and Armando Gjepali reduced the arrears for the Seasouthsiders.

Photo courtesy of Joe Borg

Luxol champions won their clash against ZRQ Bormla 5-4. The latter never gave up against Gabriel Dobre’s team and despite trailing by five goals to one, they were kept believing until the end.

Matthew Attard and Luke Gatt scored twice each while Andre Ciancio added another for Luxol. ZRQ Bormla scored thanks to a double by Mohammed Elamari and one each by Jovica Milijic and Rodrigo da Silva.

In the Enemed Challenger League, Marsaskala Futsal stayed top after beating the Maltese Under-19 selection 10-4.

The Marsaskala outfit dominated for long stretches. Mohammed Ayoub Ahmad scored five, Amir Ashtiyani twice while Pavlo Bekesha, Alessio Restuccia and Craig Pickard scored the other goals.
Collin Sammut, Benjamin Bonello Ghio, Warren Vella and Jamie Sultana scored for the Under-19s.

Ta’ Xbiex defeated Sliema Futsal 7-5 thanks to a brace each by Stefi Cale, Liam Caruana and Juan David Bautista and a goal by Christian Wismayer. Kevin Sammut notched a hat-trick for Sliema with Karl Azzopardi and Juan Morales Poveda scoring the other two goals.

Gzira United Santa Margherita defeated the Malta Under-18 selection in the basement clash. The youngsters were a tough nut to crack for the Maroons and at one point, they were leading 2-1. However, Gżira United Santa Margherita turned the score in their favour to take the three important ponts.

Yessous Camilleri scored four goals for Gżira with Anthony Spiteri, Ayrton Duncan and Felipe Aguilera scoring the other goals. Brave Azzopardi notched a brace for the Under-18s with Essien Borg, Russell Borg and Maximilian Tomasuolo scoring the other three goals.

University of Malta ACJ Group 36, Luxol St Andrew’s 31, ŻRQ Bormla 25, Swieqi United FC Futsal 21, Birżebbuġa St Peter’s 18.

Marsaskala Futsal 19, Ta’ Xbiex Futsal Izola Bank 18, Sliema Wanderers FC Futsal 8, Malta U19 selection 7, Gżira United Santa Margherita 6, Malta U18 selection 3.