IZIBET Amateur League: Dingli Swallows beat Ta’ Xbiex in ten-goal thriller

Dingli Swallows returned to winning ways as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 6-4 in a match from Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League at the Sirens Stadium on Saturday.

Shamison Farrugia put Dingli ahead after just one minute but Andres Felipe Rodrigues Vergara equalised on the 13th and then put Ta’ Xbiex ahead on the 24th. Nicholas Scicluna made it 3-1 on the 33rd but Mohamed Kara reduced the gap on the 35th and then converted a penalty two minutes from the end of the first half to restore equilibrium. Shamison Farrugia scored twice on the 56th and 63rd and five minutes later, Neil Said extended the lead. However, Nikolai Malcolm Dimech scored a fourth goal for Ta’ Xbiex on the 90th.

At the Luxol Stadium, Marsaskala defeated St. George’s 3-2. Dylan Grima opened the score on the 27th for St. George’s but Nobukatsu Tsuchiya equalised six minutes from the end of the first half. Dario Aquilina converted a penalty on the hour and Isaac Abela extended the lead five minutes later. Morientes Muscat reduced the gap one minute in added time.

Kirkop United beat Ghaxaq 3-2 at the Sirens Stadium. Ryan Dalli put Kirkop ahead on the 29th but four minutes from the end of the first half, Jurgen Gerada levelled matters. Dalli restored the lead four minutes in the second half and Neil John Cutajar made it 3-1 on the 75th. Aaron Agius reduced the gap ten minutes from time.

Mgarr lead the way with 40 points, followed by Marsaskala on 37, Qormi and Gharghur 31, San Gwann 29, St. George’s 28, Kirkop 26, Vittoriosa 25, Ghaxaq 13, Dingli 10 and Ta’ Xbiex 6. Mgarr need one point from the remaining matches to secure promotion. Ghaxaq, Dingli Swallows and Ta’ Xbiex will be playing in the Amateur League 2.

Meanwhile in a match from Group A, Pembroke Athleta earned a precious points in a 1-1 draw with Mtarfa at the Luxol Stadium. Weverton Gomes put them ahead on the 8th minute when he converted a penalty but Kurt Borg equalised for Mtarfa on the 33rd.

Mtarfa lead the way with 51 points, followed by Birzebbuga on 40, Qrendi 35, Mqabba and Xghajra 31, Mellieha and Pembroke 30, Rabat 28, Sta. Venera 21, Kalkara 16, Siggiewi 14 and Mdina 1. Mtarfa have already secured promotion while Birzebbuga have already secured a place in the Amateur League 1 next season. On the other hand, Kalkara, Siggiewi and Mdina will be playing in the Amateur League 2.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables