Michele Marcolini names squad for Slovenia, Belarus friendlies

National Teams Head Coach Michele Marcolini named a 27-man squad for the upcoming international friendlies against Slovenia and Belarus.

Malta hosts Slovenia on Thursday 21 and Belarus on Tuesday 26. Both matches will be played at the National Stadium, kick-off at 19:00.

These matches will serve as preparation ahead of the UEFA Nations League commitments, starting with the away matches against Moldova and Andorra in September.

Floriana’s Carlo Zammit Lonardelli has earned his first-ever call-up to the senior national team while Jan Busuttil, Dunstan Vella and Nevin Portelli are back in the squad.  Ryan Camenzuli is ruled out injured while Jodi Jones is missing for personal reasons.

The 27-man squad selected by Michele Marcolini for the upcoming friendlies is made up of:

Rashed Al Tumi (Sliema Wanderers FC), Henry Bonello (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matthew Grech (Zabbar St Patrick’s FC)

Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians FC), Jean Borg (Sliema Wanderers FC), Steve Borg (Hamrun Spartans FC), Zach Muscat (Farense – POR), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara FC), Kurt Shaw (Hibernians FC) 

Cain Attard (CF Os Belenenses – POR), Myles Beerman (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jan Busuttil (Balzan FC), Juan Corbalan (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matthew Guillaumier (FKS Stal Mielec Spolka Akcyjna – POL), Joseph Essien Mbong (Hamrun Spartans FC), Nikolai Muscat (Marsaxlokk FC), Brandon Diego Paiber (Valletta FC), Steven Pisani (Santa Lucia FC), Teddy Teuma (Stade de Reims FC), Dunstan Vella (Floriana FC), Yannick Yankam (Lexington SC – USA), Carlo Zammit Lonardelli (Floriana FC)

Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC), Luke Montebello (Hamrun Spartans), Kyrian Nwoko (Floriana FC), Nevin Portelli (Marsaxlokk FC), Kemar Reid (Floriana FC)