Luxol hand University of Malta ACJ Group first defeat

Luxol inflicted leaders University of Malta ACJ Group their first defeat as they dominated the direct clash, winning 9-1.

It was a five-start performance by Luxol which made things difficult for the Universitarians who could do little against their powerful opponents.

Emil Raducu and Everton da Silva Santos scored twice each while Marwan Telisi, Matthew Attard, Luke Gatt, Andy Mangion and Andre Ciancio scored the other goals for Luxol. Steven Camilleri scored the only goal for University of Malta ACJ Group.

Swieqi United returned to winning ways as they beat ŻRQ Bormla 4-3 in a nail-biting affair with the Cottonera side taking a 2-0 lead before the interval but with Swieqi who came out well in the second half and after equalizing the score, managed to turn the score in their favour. Argentinian striker Marcelo Ezequiel Alarcon was the hero for Swieqi when he scored a hat-trick with Brayan Stiven Rivera scoring the other goal. ŽRQ Bormla had Italo dos Santos scoring twice while Karl Sciortino scored the third goal.

In the Enemed Challenger League, the fight for the title between Marsaskala Futsal and Ta’ Xbiex Futsal resumed with both teams emerging victorious in their respective encounters.

Ta Xbiex beat Gżira United Santa Margherita 6-2 in order to stay top. Stefi Cale and Juan Bautista scored a double each with the other goals arriving courtesy of Redeemer Borg and an own goal. Gzira United scored through Yessous Camilleri and Andrea Camilleri.

Marsaskala defeated to beat Sliema Futsal 8-4. The Seasouthsiders were leading 2-1 up by the end of the first half and managed the game while scoring six more goals although their opponents continued to reduce the scoring margin. Prolific goalscorer Amir Ashtiyani scored a hat-trick while Craig Pickard scored a brace. Ayoub Ahmad, Dylan Caruana and Bertram Azzopardi scored the other goals for Marsaskala.The Blues had Wallace Oliveira scoring a double with Hugo Vinicius and James Brincat adding more goals for their team.


University of Malta ACJ Group 39, Luxol St Andrew’s 37, ŻRQ Bormla 28, Swieqi United FC Futsal 27, Birżebbuġa St. Peter’s 18.


Ta’ Xbiex Futsal Izola Bank 27,  Marsaskala Futsal 25, Malta U19 Selection10, Gżira United Santa Margherita 9, Sliema Wanderers FC Futsal 8, Malta U18 Selection 6.