IZIBET Amateur League: Mgarr United defeat Marsaskala in eight-goal thriller

Mgarr United ended their IZIBET Amateur League Group B commitments in style with a fine 5-3 win over Marsaskala at the Sirens Stadium on Saturday.

Jurgen Grech put Mgarr ahead on the 40th but Fabrizio Zammit converted a penalty to level matters just before the end of the first half. Nicholas Schembri restored the lead ten minutes in the second half and Gordon Saliba made it 3-1 on the 64th. Schembri scored again for Mgarr two minutes later but Joshua Micallef reduced the gap for Marsaskala on the 68th. Isaac Abela converted a penalty for Marsaskala seven minutes from time but Christian Ebisindor Saint scored a fifth goal for Mgarr.

Kirkop United secured their Amateur League 1 status after beating Dingli Swallows 1-0 at the Luxol Stadium thanks to a Ryan Dalli penalty two minutes from the end of the first half.

Vittoriosa Stars finished eighth following a 2-2 draw with Ghaxaq at the Sirens Stadium. Gaynor D’Amato scored twice on the 8th and 23rd to put Ghaxaq two goals ahead but Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe scored twice on the 55 and 65th to level matters.

Qormi, on the other hand, defeated Ta’ Xbiex 3-1 at the Luxol Stadium. Jayden Borg opened the scoring on the 15th but Mark Bonello Ghio levelled matters on the 25th. An own goal early in the second half put Qormi ahead once again and Alex Nilsson sealed the issue with a third goal on the 90th.

Mgarr ended their commitments on 46 point, followed by Qormi and Marsaskala on 37, Gharghur 34, Kirkop and San Gwann 32, St. George’s 31, Vittoriosa 29, Ghaxaq 14, Dingli 10 and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

St. George’s and Vittoriosa enter the play-offs while Ghaxaq, Dingli and Ta’ Xbiex were relegated to Amateur League 2.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables