Luke Montebello, Stephania Farrugia win top awards in Malta FA Awards 2024

Hamrun Spartans forward Luke Montebello and Birkirkara’s Stephania Farrugia won the Footballer of the Year and Female Player of the Year respectively in the Malta FA Awards 2024 which was held on Saturday at the DoubleTree by Hilton Malta in Qawra.

Yuri de Jesus Messias of Marsaxlokk claimed the Foreign Player of the Year award while Mauro German Camoranesi of Floriana won the Coach of the Year award.

Kaiden Fenech of Birkirkara won the Best Goal award for his goal against Santa Lucia.

Matthew Debattista of Melita won the BOV Challenge League Best Player Kurt Borg of Mtarfa won the IZIBET Amateur League Best Player.

Owen Spiteri of Floriana won the BOV Young Player of the Year. Mosta’ Ensell Attard and Swieqi United’s Kaysia Micallef won the Best Youth League Player and Assikura Female Youth League Best Player respectively.

Sirens won over the Fair Play Award.

Three other awards to be presented were The President’s Award, The Gozitan Achievement Award and The Football Social Responsibility Award won by Miguel Mifsud, Ann Marie Said and Fgura United respectively.

Former Malta international player Joe Cini was admitted to the Hall of Fame.

The event was presented by Sarah Bajada.

Winners MFA Awards 2024

MFA Footballer of the Year:- Montebello Luke (Ħamrun Spartans FC)

MFA Female Footballer of the Year:- Farrugia Stephania (Birkirkara FC)

Coach of the Year:- Camoranesi Mauro German (Floriana FC)

BOV Young Player of the Year:- Spiteri Owen (Floriana FC),

Foreign Player of the Year:- De Jesus Yuri Messias (Marsaxlokk FC)

BOV Challenge League Best Player:-Debattista Matthew (Melita FC)

IZIBET Amateur League Best Player:- Borg Kurt (Mtarfa FC)

Best Youth League player:- Attard Ensell (Mosta FC)

Assikura Female Youth League Best Player: Micallef Kaysia (Swieqi United FC).

Best Goal Award Kaiden Fenech (Birkirkara)

Top Scorers

BOV Premier League – Luke Montebello (Hamrun Spartans) 21 goals
BOV Challenge League – Andre Carlos Penha da Costa (Melita) 19
IZIBET Amateur League Kurt Norg (Mtarfa) 33
Assikura Women’s League Salamatu Abdulai (Swieqi United) 23

Fair Play Award Sirens

The President’s Award Miguel Mifsud

The Gozitan Achievement Award Ann Marie Said

The Football Social Responsibility Award Fgura United