Manuela Tesse names squad for Bosnia Herzegovina double header

Women’s National Team Head Coach Manuela Tesse has just named the final twenty-three players ahead of two European Qualifiers games from League B Group 3. 

Tesse joined by her technical staff, has led a five-week training camp ahead of these two crucial matches. 

The WNT will kick off their commitments at the Centenary Stadium this Friday at 19.30 playing the first of this double header fixture at home against Bosnia and Herzegovina. 

The team will then travel to their second back-to-back encounter against Bosnia and Herzegovina.  The away game will be played on Tuesday 4th June at the FF BH Football Training Centre, Zenica, with a 16:00 kick-off.

Goalkeeper Janice Xuereb, who has just undergone an ACL surgery, will be away from the game for the next months. 

The home fixture on Friday will be bittersweet for female football legend Dorianne Theuma, who has decided to retire from football marking the end of a long and successful career of Malta’s most capped female player.  

Currently, Malta stands in third place in this group, having achieved an all-important draw against Northern Ireland away, and losing to Portugal in the second outing suffering 2 goals on home soil. 

Malta aims to achieve the possibility of playing in the playoffs to determine League B status next October. 

WNT Final 23 Player Squad


Maya Cachia (Como, Italy), Patricia Ebejer (Mġarr United FC)


Rebecca Bajada (Mġarr United FC), Maia Debono (Mġarr United FC), Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara FC), Emma Lipman (Como, Italy), Valentina Rapa (Birkirkara FC), Ann Marie Said (Birkirkara FC), Charlene Zammit (Birkirkara FC) 


Brenda Borg (Mġarr United FC), Rachel Cuschieri (Sampdoria, Italy), Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara FC), Nicole Sciberras (Hibernians FC), Dorianne Theuma (Swieqi United FC), Gabriella Zahra (Birkirkara FC), Shona Zammit (Swieqi United FC)


Haley Bugeja (Inter Milano, Italy), Maria Farrugia (Lewes FC, England), Jade Flask (Swieqi United FC), Maya Lucia (NK Osijek, Croatia), Sara Saliba (Birkirkara FC), Alishia Sultana (Birkirkara FC), Kailey Willis (Venezia, Italy).