Hamrun win Nestle Ice Cream Beach Soccer League

Hamrun won the Nestle Ice Cream Beach Soccer League after defeating La Playa de Arena 3-2 in the final held at Pretty Bay, Birżebbuġa.

It was a very hard-fought game with the Red/Blacks managing to turn the score in their favour after finding themselves trailing after the first session.

Sheldon Mizzi had put La Playa de Arena ahead but in the second session, Hamrun turned the score in their favour courtesy of a brace by David Emanuel Garba.

In the third session, La Playa de Arena tied the score through a good free kick by Mantas Makutunovicius but towards the end Hamrun scored the winning goal through Christopher Mario Baker.

After the end of the match, MFA vice-president Dr Matthew Paris presented the cup to Hamrun Beach Soccer captain Antonello Demanuele in the presence of MBSA president Mauro Camilleri Darmanin.

Meanwhile David Emanuel Garba finished as the league’s top scorer with 42 goals and also won the award as the tournament’s best player. The award for the best goalkeeper went to Jonathan Grech of La Playa de Arena.

La Playa de Arena: Jonathan Grech, Karl Caruana, Indrek Palm, Mantas Makutunovicius, Daryl Micallef, Sheldon Mizzi, Pak Ling Li, Ivan Bojovic, Andre Joe Cutajar, Claudio Venuto.

Ħamrun Beach Soccer: Ini Akpan, Christopher Mario Baker, David Emmanuel Garba, Kyle Bartolo, Weverton Gomes, Carmelo Caruana, Cheick Kone, Antonello Demanuele, Faisal Alnakouoo, Shamison Farrugia, Nezar Abouhaisa, Dale Valleta.

Referees: Stefania Bonnici, Luca Formosa, Andrea Naudi.

Time-keeper: Ray Tabone.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.