Nine Premier League players suspended after final league games

Nine Premier League players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner after the final round of matches from the Championship Pool.

Sliema’s Josef Mifsud, who was sent off at the end of the game against Hibernians, was banned for two matches while Birkirkara’s Angus Buhagiar and Joseph Zerafa, Aaron Xuereb, Ben Camilleri and Jonathan Caruana, Qormi’s Stephen Wellman, Tarxien’s Lee Galea and Valletta’s Edmond Agius were banned for one.

Josef Mifsud and Stephen Wellman are therefore ruled out of the possible decider for third place.

In Division 1, Gordon Failla (St. Patrick) was banned for two matches while Michael Borg Olivier was handed a one-match ban.

Shawn Vella of Gharghur was suspended for two matches while Ryan Debattista, also of Gharghur, and Luke Cauchi (Mellieha) were suspended for one match. Gharghur official Omar Gauci was banned for four matches.

In Division 3, Daniel Agius (Attard) was suspended for one match while Franklin Muscat (Mgarr) was banned for one match in the Youth Knock-Out.

Meanwhile several other players and officials were banned in Division 3 on Wednesday.

Nicholas Gatt (Kalkara), Josef Taliana and Jonathan Grech (Pembroke), Daniel Axisa and Antoine Muscat (Xghajra), Karl Vassallo and Charlo Magro (Zejtun) were banned for one match. Sirens coach Roland Sollars was suspended for three matches while Naxxar kit-manager Victor Micallef was suspended for one game.

Owen Grech (Zurrieq) was suspended for one game in the Youth League while Merlin Mifsud (Sliema) and Justin Camenzuli (Valletta) were banned for one match in the Youth Knock-Out. Leone Camilleri (Valletta) and Valletta assistant coach Martin Scicluna were both banned for two matches.