Winners of Best Players' Awards announced

The winners of the Best Players’ Awards were announced during the meeting of the Council of the Malta Football Association which was held on Thursday.

The Best Players for the First, Second and Third Division, Youth League, Woman’s League and Futsal League were announced. However the winner of the MFA Footballer of the Year Award will only be announced during the MFA Annual Honours Ceremony which will be held on July 16.

Martin Deanov (Marsaxlokk) was voted Best First Division Player ahead of Beppe Muscat (Vittoriosa Stars) and Simon Shead (Balzan Youths). Julian Galea (Melita) placed fourth and Sergio Hili (San Gwann) fifth.

Ronnie Celeste (Birzebbuga St. Peter’s) claimed the Best Second Division Player award. Mark Aquilina (Gharghur) placed second, Jean Paul Scerri (Lija Athletic) third, Luke Cauchi (Mellieha) fourth and Martin Pace (Zebbug Rangers) fifth.

Luqa St. Andrew’s striker Malcolm Tirchett won the Best Third Division Player award. Johann Said (Mgarr United) placed second, Jason Camilleri (Siggiewi) third, Renald Attard (Fgura United) fourth and Charlo Magro (Zejtun Corinthians) fifth.

Yessous Camilleri of Valletta won the Best Youth Player award ahead of Keith Fedele (Pietà), Matthew Vella (Mellieha), Michael Cachia (Melita) and Rowen Muscat (Birkirkara).

Dorianne Theuma of Mosta was voted Best Woman Player ahead of Nina Dimech (Birkirkara) and Stefania Farrugia (Birkirkara).

Florin Anton of ZC Excess Futsal claimed the Best Futsal Player award. Bjorn Vassallo (Paola Downtown) and David Smith (Los Street Boyz) placed second and third respectively.

The five finalists for the MFA Footballer of the Year are Gilbert Agius (Valletta), Shaun Bajada (Birkirkara), Trevor Cilia (Birkirkara), Denni Rocha Dos Santos (Tarxien Rainbows) and Kevin Sammut (Valletta).

Meanwhile the winners of the Fair Play Awards were also announced on Thursday.

The winners of the various sections were:
Premier Division: 1. Qormi, 2. Birkirkara, 3. Msida St. Joseph.
First Division: 1. Marsaxlokk, 2. Mosta, 3. Mqabba.
Second Division: 1. Lija Athletic, 2. St. Venera Lightnings, 3. St. Andrews.
Third Division: 1. Mgarr United, 2. Luqa St. Andrew’s, 3. Siggiewi.
Youth League: 1. Sirens, 2. Floriana, 3. Valletta.
Women’s League: 1. Mgarr United, 2. Lija/Iklin, 3. Tarxien Rainbows.
Overall: 1. Mgarr United, 2. Marsaxlokk, 3. Luqa St. Andrew’s.