Candidates for UEFA EXCO confirmed

UEFA confirmed the list of candidates standing for election to the UEFA Executive Committee during the XXXV Ordinary UEFA Congress which will be held in Paris in March.

A total of 13 representatives from UEFA’s national associations have submitted their candidature for election for the seven available seats on the UEFA Executive Committee for the four-year period 2011-2015.

The terms of office of the following seven members of the UEFA Executive Committee are expiring in 2011 – ?enes Erzik (Turkey), Gilberto Madaíl (Portugal), Dr Joe Mifsud (Malta), Mircea Sandu (Romania), Grigoriy Surkis (Ukraine), Liutauras Varanavi?ius (Lithuania), Ángel María Villar Llona (Spain).

All these members will be standing for re-election, except for Dr Mifsud, after the Malta Football Association opted to nominate new president Norman Darmanin Demajo.

In fact, completing the list of 13 candidates are: François De Keersmacker (Belgium), Norman Darmanin Demajo (Malta), Sergey Fursenko (Russia), Peter Gilliéron (Switzerland) Ivan Hašek (Czech Republic), Grzegorz Lato (Poland), Borislav Mihaylov (Bulgaria).

The elections will take place at the XXXV Ordinary UEFA Congress, to be held at Le Grand Palais in Paris, France, on 22 March.