Greece name squad for EURO 2012 qualifier

Greece coach Fernando Santos named a nineteen-man squad for the EURO 2012 qualifier against Malta in programme on March 26 at the National Stadium, Ta’ Qali.

Greece are currently second in Group F with eight points from four matches. After being held in a 1-1 draw by Georgia in Piraeus, they held Croatia in a goalless draw in Zagreb in September. In October, they defeated Latvia 1-0 and Latvia 2-1.

The squad is made up of goalkeepers Tzorvas Alexandros (Panathinaikos FC), Chalkias Konstantinos (PAOK FC);
defenders Papadopoulos Avraam (Olympiacos FC), Tzavellas Georgios (Eintracht Frankfurt), Vyntra Loukas (Panathinaikos FC), Papastathopoulos Socratis (AC Milan), Moras Evangelos (Bologna FC), Torosidis Vassilios (Olympiacos FC);
midfielders Katsouranis Konstantinos (Panathinaikos FC), Karagounis Georgios (Panathinaikos FC), Kafes Pantelis (AEK Athens), Ninis Sotirios (Panathinaikos FC), Kone Panagiotis (Brescia Calcio), Lagos Panagiotis (AEK Athens);
forwards Salpigidis Dimitrios (PAOK), Fetfatzidis Ioannis (Olympiacos FC), Samaras Georgios (Celtic FC), Mitroglou Konstantinos (Panionios FC), Lymperopoulos Nikolaos (AEK Athens).