Teams in Women's First Division to increase to eight by 2012/13

Eight teams will be taking part in the Women’s First Division League as from 2012/13. This was announced during the Council of the Malta Football Association which was held on Tuesday.

It was reported that the Competitions Committee discussed the formats for the Youth and Women’s competitions for next season. It was agreed that as from next season, Sections B, C and D will be played on Mondays rather than weekends. It is envisaged that between twelve to sixteen matches will be played every Monday. Section A football will continue to be played on Wednesdays and Thursdays.

As regards the Women’s League, matches will be played on Tuesday, mainly due to the fact that more venues are available for hosting these matches. In order to increase the number of teams in the First Division to eight teams in two years’ time, two teams from the Second Division will be promoted rather than one. Up to last season, one team was promoted and the runner-up played a decider against the team ending second from bottom in Division 1.

As from 2012/13, eight teams will be playing in the First Division. At the end of the first phase, teams will be divided into a Championship Pool and a Relegation Pool, based on one round.