New committee for San Gwann FC

The new committee for season 2011/12 of San Gwann Football Club was elected during the club’s Annual General Meeting.

Jason Borg, Adrian Caruana, Raymond Colombo, Victor Grech, Mark Mallia, Christopher Sant, Jason Sant, Vincent Spiteri and Vincent Tanti were elected with Jason Sant, a former player of San Gwann and a serving Committee member of the San Gwann Nursery, being elected for the first time. Victor Grech and Vincent Tanti have served in the committee last season as co-opted members, the latter also serving in the Nursery Committee, replacing the vacant post left by current MFA Chief Executive Officer Bjorn Vassallo.

Outgoing Club President Jason Borg and Secretary Christopher Sant, who is also Secretary of the Nursery, as well as New Senior Team Coach Michael Molzahn stressed on the importance to maintain the good progress that characterised an excellent second round performance by the mostly young San Gwann side, and emphasis was placed on the good work being done by the Nursery’s Technical and administrative team.

The new committee and technical staff will also work closely with the Nursery through this season with the long-term objective of seeing San Gwann gain promotion to the First Division.

Mr. Borg and Mr. Sant also paid tribute and thanked the club sponsors and former committee members Dr. Arsalan Alshinawi, Mr. Leonard Vella and Mr. Pieter Bregman for their services and support during the past season, and emphasised the importance to seek new sponsors for the coming season.

A minute’s silence was also observed to the memory of former Club President Louis Agius who passed away during the season.