Seven Premier League players suspended

Seven Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner on Wednesday.

Jonathan Xerri (Marsaxlokk), Predrag Mirceta (Mosta), Branislav Timotic (Mqabba), Luke Sciberras (Qormi), Josef Mifsud (Sliema), Orosco Anonam (Tarxien) and Andrew Hogg (Valletta) are therefore ruled out of the weekend’s matches.

Hogg will be missing the game against Balzan while Josef Mifsud misses the game against Hibernians.

Xerri and Sciberras are ruled out of Marsaxlokk vs Qormi, Mirceta misses the game against Hamrun while Timotic and Anonam are ruled out of Mqabba vs Tarxien.

Marsaxlokk team-manager Cedric J. Baldacchino was banned for two matches.

In Division 1, Rigers Ceka (St. Patrick) and Justin Camilleri (Vittoriosa) were suspended for one match while Matthew Pisani (Kirkop),
Mark Ciantar (Luqa), Giovanni Galea (Mellieha), Christopher Pace (San Gwann) and Karl Sacco (Zurrieq) were handed a one-match ban.

In the Youth League, Michael Camilleri (Birkirkara), Christian Briffa (Qormi), Nicky Bezzina (St. Patrick), Dione Vella and Jeremy Catania (Sta. Venera) and Terence Abela (Xghajra) were all banned for one match while Carmelo Caruana (Kirkop) was suspended for three matches.

In the Youth Knock-Out, Christian Cutajar and Domenic Sciberras (Gzira) were banned for three matches while Nicholas Zahra (Gzira), Matthew Gauci (Hamrun) and Jan Vella (Mqabba) were suspended for one match.