Roger Strickland Jr. appointed Swieqi United Honorary President

The Annual General Meeting of Swieqi United Football Club (SUFC) has elected Roger Strickland Jr. as its first Honorary President and its first ‘member for life’ in recognition of his endeavours and support for the club. Roger Strickland Jr. was first elected as an executive member of SUFC in 2009 (which was the founding year of the club).

In 2010 and 2011 he was elected as Vice-President of the club. Roger Strickland Jr. also founded the “Strickland Cup” in 2010, a yearly event involving Third Division Clubs.

The Annual General Meeting of SUFC also elected its executive board for the 2012/13 season.

Dr Justin Fenech was reconfirmed as Club President for a 2nd term and will be heading a strong and energetic executive made up of familiar and new faces.

The Board will be composed of:
President Dr Justin Fenech
Vice-President Gavin Ellul
Vice-President Hani Arebi
Secretary Michael Calleja
Treasurer Anthony Azzopardi
Marketing Officer Jacques Ellul Soler
Events Officer Robert Dingli
Events Co-Ordinator Christine Scholz
Media Officer Matthew Muscat
MFA Relations Officer Mauro Miceli
Futsal Manager Paul Hyzler
Futsal Co-Ordinator Simon Gingell Littlejohn

SUFC is currently working on preparations for the MFA 3rd Division 2012/13 season, aiming to strengthen its team to improve on last year’s performance. Roland Sollars was reconfirmed as SUFC coach for the 2012/13 season.