Gozo to host UEFA Regions Cup mini-tournament

Gozo will be hosting Group 5 of the Intermediary Round of the UEFA Regions Cup between Sunday 14 and Thursday 18 October.

The Gozo FA was given this opportunity to take part in the tournament following a request to MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo. This will be the second time, Gozo will be representing Malta in the UEFA Regions Cup after playing in Thessaloniki, Greece, in 1999, losing 0-4 to Zapadne Srbije of Yugoslavia, 0-6 to Israel and 2-8 to Macedonia of Greece.

Gozo’s opponents will be ATF Ialoveni of Moldova, Rinūži/Strong of Latvia and FC Olimp Moscow of Russia.

The team led by Eddie Vella will be playing the first game on Sunday against Rinūži/Strong, against FC Olimp Moscow on Tuesday and ATF Ialoveni on Thursday. The three matches will be played at the Gozo Stadium at 11:30. The other three games will be played at the same venue at 14:30 on Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday respectively.

The players selected by Vella are:
goalkeepers Mark Grima (Nadur), Adrian Parnis (Sannat);
defenders Mark Buhagiar (Xaghra), Peter Buttigieg (Sannat), Joseph Cefai (Xewkija), Daniel Farrugia (Victoria Hotspurs), David Udoh Monday (SK Victoria Wanderers), Darko Stojanovic (Zurrieq);
midfielders Michael Bezzina (Xaghra), Brian Meilak (Nadur), Jean Paul Mizzi (Kercem), Alex Simoncic (Nadur), Milos Stojanovic (Nadur), Elton Vella (Xewkija);
forwards Rodney Buttigieg (Xewkija), Kenneth Mercieca (SK Victoria Wanderers), Anthony Portelli (Nadur) u Joseph Portelli (Nadur).

Although all matches are planned to be played at the Gozo Stadium, in case games on the last day are decisive Rinūži/Strong vs FC Olimp Moscow will be played at the Centenary Stadium, Ta’ Qali.

Referees for this tournament are Richard Trutz (Slovakia), Joao Carlos Santos Capela (Portugal) and Damir Batinic (Croatia) while the assistant referees are Ondrej Brendza (Slovakia), Nuno Filipe Santos Tomas Pereira (Portugal), Dalibor Conjar (Croatia) and Sammy Attard (Malta). Mario Apap (Malta) will be one of the fourth officials.