Ten Premier League players suspended

Ten Premier League players were banned by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Valletta goalkeeper Manuel Bartolo was suspended for two matches while Matthew Mendy (Balzan), Jhonnattann Benites da Conceicao (Birkirkara), Thomas Paris (Floriana), Andrea Cassar, Terence Vella and Lyubomir Vitanov (Hamrun), Marcelo Dias (Hibs), Manuel Moral Fuster (Rabat) and Ryan Sammut (Tarxien) were all banned for one match.

Hamrun will therefore lack Cassar, Vella and Vitanov for the game against Melita while Manuel Bartolo is ruled out of Valletta’s next two games against Hibernians and Birkirkara. Marcelo Dias is also ruled out of the game Valletta-Hibs.

Jhonnattann and Ryan Sammut will miss Tarxien vs Birkirkara while Paris is ruled out of the game against Mosta. Rabat, on the other hand, will be without Fuster for the match against Sliema Wanderers.

In Division 3, Matthew Cassar (Kalkara) and Kristian Galea (Sirens) were banned for one match while Clayton Goodrum (Santa Lucia) was suspended for two matches. Kalkara coach Marco Gerada was also banned for two matches.