Five Premier League players suspended

National StadiumFive Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

George Gribbon (Melita), Kris Thackray and Leighton Grech (Qormi), Manuel Caruana (Tarxien), Luke Dimech (Valletta) are therefore ruled out of the next round of matches in programme on March 30, April 1 and 2.

Renato Conceicao of Balzan, who was originally handed a one-match ban, had his suspension cancelled.

Luke Dimech will miss the important match against Hibernians while Caruana is ruled out of the game against Tarxien. Gribbon will miss the Relegation Pool clash against Hamrun while Thackray and Grech are ruled out of the match against Floriana.

In Division 1, Evair Grech (Dingli), Steven Meilak (Gzira) and Michael Johnston (St. Andrews) were banned for one match. Lija team manager Jesmond Caruana was also banned for one match.

Edmond Lapira (Gharghur), Ryan Zammit and Christopher Cuschieri (San Gwann) and John Ogechukwu Nwoba (Zebbug) were handed a one-match ban in Division 2. Fgura team manager Stephen Plumpton was also banned for one match.

In Division 3, Davide Mula (Qrendi) was banned for two matches while Randall Vella (Kalkara), Nikola Stoychev Slavtchev (Luqa), Josef Felice (Marsa), Vince Camilleri and Rodney Galea (Senglea), Kristian Galea and Lee Joe Schembri (Sirens) and Miguel Agius (Ta’ Xbiex) were banned for one match. Senglea coach Dennis Fenech was suspended for two matches.