Six clubs apply for UEFA licence

UEFA_logo_2012Six Premier League clubs have applied for a UEFA license. The clubs are Birkirkara, Hibernians, Mosta, Qormi, Sliema Wanderers and Valletta.

Originally Floriana had also applied for a UEFA licence but the Greens eventually withdrew their application.

Next season, Malta will be represented once again by four clubs in UEFA competitions – the BOV Premier League champions will enter the second qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League while the U*BET FA Trophy winners and the teams placing second and third in the BOV Premier League will enter the first qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League.

Birkirkara, Hibernians, Mosta, Sliema Wanderers and Valletta have all secured a place in the Championship Pool. Qormi’s only chance of securing a place in Europe is by winning the U*BET FA Trophy. In case the winners of the U*BET FA Trophy have already won the championship and are therefore eligible to play in the UEFA Champions League, they will no longer be replaced by the FA Trophy finalists but by the team placing fourth in the BOV Premier League.

Apart from Qormi, Birkirkara, Sliema Wanderers and Valletta are still engaged in the U*BET FA Trophy – the quarter-finals for which will be played on February 15 and 16.