Jorginho joint top-scorer after hitting hat-trick past Valletta

Brazilian striker Jorge da Silva Pereira notched a hat-trick in a 3-1 win for Hibernians over Valletta as the Paolites celebrated the eleventh championship in the history of the club.

The three goals scored by Jorginho enabled him to join Edison Luis dos Santos on top of the list of top-scorers with twenty-five goals.

Valletta went close to taking the lead after just a couple of minutes when goalkeeper Henry Bonello tried to clear the ball with a header following a back pass by Kristensen but Lateef Elford Alliyu’s effort was turned into a corner.

The Paolites took the lead on the 16th minute when Andrew Cohen served Bjorn Kristensen in midfield and the latter intelligently sent Jorge da Silva Pereira through with the Brazilian striker slotting the ball past Marino.

Hibs doubled the score on the 36th when Cohen sent Jorginho through and the latter anticipated Marino placing the ball at the back of the net.

Three minutes in the second half, Hibs were awarded a penalty after goalkeeper Pietro Marino floored Jorginho just inside the area. Referee Clayton Pisani sent off the Italian goalkeeper and from the penalty spot, Jorginho converted.

Clayton Failla was unlucky to hit the upright with a freekick on the 71st minute.

Eight minutes from time, Valletta reduced the gap thanks to Shaun Bajada who lobbed the ball over goalkeeper Bonello with a good shot from outside the area from the left.

After the final whistle, Hibernians captain Andrew Cohen was presented with the cup by MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo.

HIBS Henry Bonello, Rui da Gracia Gomes, Jackson Lima, Rodolfo Soares (33′ Keith Tanti), Marcelo Dias (83′ Timothy Tabone Desira), Andrew Cohen, Bjorn Kristensen (63′ Jurgen Degabriele), Clayton Failla, Johann Bezzina, Andrei Agius, Jorge da Silva Pereira.
Subs not used: Jurgen Borg, Jonathan Pearson, Luis Andre de Melo Lima, Joseph Mbong.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

VALLETTA Pietro Demetrio Marino, Jonathan Caruana (2′ Ikenna Paul Hillary), Ian Azzopardi, Ryan Camilleri, Ryan Fenech, Hamza Barry, Roderick Briffa, Lateef Elford Alliyu (75′ Llywelyn Cremona), Shaun Bajada, Abdelkarim Nafti, Luke Dimech.
Subs not used: Nicky Vella, Hamid Alkamali, Christian Caruana, Nicholas Pulis, Dario Tabone.
Coach: Gilbert Agius

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, David Castillo
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia
Yellow Cards: Dimech
Red Cards: Marino
BOV Player of the Match: Jorge da Silva Pereira
Attendance: 3,890