FA Trophy: Another three Gozitan clubs through to second round

Gozitan sides Ghajnsielem, Nadur Youngsters and St. Laurence Spurs along with Third Division side Dingli Swallows were the last four teams to reach the second round of the FA Trophy after emerging as winners in the last four first round matches in programme on Sunday.

At the Gozo Stadium, Gozitan Second Division side Nadur Youngsters defeated Mdina Knights 1-0. Brandon Said scored the all-important goal in added time before the end of the first half.

In a clash between two Gozitan sides, St. Laurence Spurs defeated Oratory Youths 1-0 after extra-time. William Barbosa had a penalty saved by the Oratory goalkeeper on 55 minutes. With no goals being scored during the ninety minutes, Cedric Sciberras notched the winner in the first minute of added time in the first half of extra-time.

At the Sirens Stadium, Gozitan side Ghajnsielem defeated Xghajra Tornados 1-0 thanks to a penalty by Equatoguinean striker Franciso Salvador Ela eleven minutes in the second half.

In another match, Dingli Swallows defeated Gozitan side Munxar Falcons 2-0. Kayne Said opened the score on 21 minutes and thirteen minutes later, Luke Galea doubled the score.

In the second round, Ghajnsielem will be facing Dingli Swallows, Nadur take on Second Division side Zabbar St. Patrick while St. Laurence Spurs will be meeting another Gozitan side SK Victoria Wanderers. Second round matches will be played on September 23, 24 and 25.

Apart from these four clubs, Gozitans Kercem Ajax, Xewkija Tigers, SK Victoria Wanderers and Victoria Hotspurs and Third Division clubs St. Venera Lightnings, Ta’ Xbiex, Marsaxlokk and Mtarfa also reached the second round. First and Second Division clubs enter the competition in the second round and Premier League clubs in the third round.