Balzan hit eight past Naxxar Lions

For the second week in succession, Naxxar Lions suffered a heavy 0-8 defeat, this time losing to Balzan at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Balzan had to wait until the 37th minute to break the deadlock but following the dismissal of the Naxxar goalkeeper and a penalty, they never looked back scoring no less than six after the break.

Oliver Spiteri’s side extended their positive run to twelve matches while for Naxxar, this was the fifth consecutive defeat.
Both sides were unable to field their best formation due to the absence of Samir Arab, Dylan Grima and Ryan Fenech for Balzan, Andrew Scicluna and Ryan Grech for Naxxar.

Balzan managed to break the deadlock eight minutes from the end of the first half when Paul Fenech served Alfred Effiong who rounded two defenders before hitting low past Pecorella.

Naxxar were reduced to ten men after Luke Pecorella was sent off after he brought Alfred Effiong down inside the area. From the penalty spot, Pedro dos Santos Calcado beat substitute goalkeeper Alberto Gallinetta.

Three minutes in the second half, Justin Grioli served Bojan Kaljevic who passed the ball back for Lydon Micallef to hit home past the Naxxar goalkeeper.

Aleksandar Vujacic increased the lead on the 61st minute after slotting the ball past Gallinetta following an assist by Pedro Calcado.

One minute later, Alfred Effiong blasted the ball past the Naxxar custodian from the edge of the area to make it 5-0.

Lydon Micallef scored a sixth goal on the 69th minutes when he rounded the goalkeeper and pulled to the left before dribbling a defender and placing the ball at the back of the net.

Aleksandar Vujacic added another on the 74th when he beat Alberto Gallinetta when served by Elkin Serrano on the left.

Three minutes later, Lydon Micallef scored the eighth goal as he tapped the ball home after an assist by Vujacic.

BALZAN Ivan Janjusevic (56′ Christian Cassar), Justin Grioli, Paul Fenech, Steve Bezzina, Aleksandar Vujacic, Alfred Effiong (66′ Alan da Silva Souza), Clive Brincat, Pedro dos Santos Calcado, Lydon Micallef, Elkin Serrano Valero, Bojan Kaljevic (60′ Luke Sciberras).
Subs not used: Maxim Focsa, Sean Cipriott, Paul Lapira, Luke Pace.
Coach: Oliver Spiteri

NAXXAR Luke Pecorella, Alvaro Javier Hungria Rosero, Eduardo Vallecillo Casado (44′ Alberto Gallinetta gk), Demba Toure, Daren Falzon (70′ Joel Ellul), Jose Angel Godar Pereira, Jurgen Debono (58′ Duane Bonnici), Ishmael Grech, David Fenech, Mark Fenech, Nikola Tasic.
Subs not used: Francesco Gauci, Gianluca Grima, Darren Grech, Luke Mifsud.
Coach: Clive Mizzi

Referee Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, David Castillo
Fourth Official: Alan Mario Sant
Yellow Cards: C. Brincat
Scorers: 37′ Alfred Effiong, 45′ Pedro dos Santos Calcado pen, 47′ Lydon Micallef, 61′ Aleksandar Vujacic, 62′ Alfred Effiong, 69′ Lydon Micallef, 74′ Aleksandar Vujacic, 77′ Lydon Micallef
BOV Player of the Match: Lydon Micallef

Floriana returned to winning ways as they came from behind to beat St. Andrews 3-1 at the Hibernians Stadium.

St. Andrews managed to take the lead on the 6th minute when Enmy Manuel Pena Beltre was brought down inside the area and from the penalty spot, Joseph Farrugia converted.

Floriana equalised just before half-time when off a Juninho Cabral freekick, Nicolas Chiesa headed home past goalkeeper Jake Galea.

The Greens forged ahead on the 65th when off a cross by Nicolas Chiesa, Mario Fontanella headed the ball home.

Four minutes later, Floriana made it 3-1 when thanks to a cross shot by Mauricio Villa which beat the St. Andrews goalkeeper.

FLORIANA Matthew Calleja Cremona, Andre Scicluna, Enrico Pepe, Steve Pisani (80’ Firas Aboulezz), Clyde Borg (73’ Conor Borg), Juninho Cabral, Matteo Piciollo (62′ Mauricio Villa), Emanuel Briffa, Nicolas Chiesa, Mario Fontanella, Emerson Marcellina.
Subs not used: Matthew Grech, Neil Spiteri, Daniel Agius, Steve Bonnici, Firas Aboulezz.

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Emmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Dale Camilleri, Bong Won Che, Jonatan Perez Cuesta (71’ Kyrian Nwoko), Lucky Victor Oseghale, Michel Salomon Wisdom, Joseph Farrugia, Chinatu Francis Onwudinjo (89’ Jacob Walker), Michael Johnson, Eloy Edu Nkene (83’ Matteo Desira Buttigieg).
Subs not used: Dorian Bugeja, Jamie Magri Overand, Liam Grech, Ryan Sammut

Referee: Marco Borg
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, William Debattista
Fourth Official: Glen Tonna
Yellow Cards: Emerson, Picciolo, C. Borg, Briffa, Pena Beltre, Pepe, Pisani
Scorers: 7′ Joseph Farrugia (pen), 45’ Nicolas Chiesa, 65’ Mario Fontanella, 69′ Mauricio Villa
BOV Player of the Match: Nicolas Chiesa