Nominees for the MFPA Awards 2016 announced

The nominees for the MFPA Awards 2016 have just been announced. There are a total of 24 categories awarding mainly players in a plethora of categories ranging from the MFPA Best Player, Best Young Player, Best First Division Player, Best Coach, Best Female Player, MFPA Best XI, Best Referee and more.

Now in their third year, the awards ceremony will be held on the 2nd May at the Xara Lodge, Rabat. The annual event which is becoming one of the highlights of Maltese football, celebrates the very best for this current season.

List of nominated players:
MFPA Best Young Goalkeeper – Andrea Cassar (Tarxien Rainbows), Christian Cassar (Balzan), Matthew Calleja Cremona (Floriana)
MFPA Best Young Defender – Daniel Zerafa (Tarxien Rainbows), Emanuel Briffa (Floriana), Samir Arab (Balzan)
MFPA Best Young Midfielder – Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Llywelyn Cremona (Valletta), Ryan Camenzuli (Birkirkara)
MFPA Best Young Forward – Ayrton Azzopardi (Tarxien Rainbows), Luke Montebello (Tarxien Rainbows), Lydon Micallef (Balzan)
MFPA Best XI Goalkeeper – Andrea Cassar (Tarxien Rainbows), Henry Bonello (Valletta), Mario Muscat (Pembroke Athleta)
MFPA Best XI Left-Back – Gary Muir (Sliema Wanderers), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara), Steve Bezzina (Balzan)
MFPA Best XI Right-Back – Jonas Ekani (Mosta), Justin Grioli (Balzan), Ryan Camilleri (Valletta)
MFPA Best XI Central Defenders (2) – Andrei Agius (Hibernians), Bruno Oliveria (Tarxien Rainbows), Elkin Serrano (Balzan), Enrico Pepe (Floriana), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Juan Cruz Gill (Valletta)
MFPA Best Midfielders (3) – Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Claudio Pani (Valletta), Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro (Hibernians), Jackson Lima (Hibernians), Kyle O’Brien (Pembroke Athleta), Nicolas Chiesa (Floriana), Paul Fenech (Balzan), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Ryan Camenzuli (Birkirkara).
MFPA Best Forwards (3) – AbdelKarim Nafti (Valletta), Alex Paixao [Lekao] (Tarxien Rainbows), Alfred Effiong (Balzan), Federico Falcone (Valletta), Jhonnattann Benites (Valletta), Jorge Pereira [Jorginho] (Hibernians), Jorge Santos Silva (Hibernians), Lydon Micallef (Balzan), Matteo Piciollo (Floriana)