BOV Division 3: Marsaxlokk champions, Attard and Ghaxaq promoted

Marsaxlokk were declared BOV Third Division champions while Attard and Ghaxaq secured promotion to Division 2 along with the Southseasiders as the last round of matches was played on Sunday.

Marsaxlokk secured the title as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 5-0 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Dylan Attard converted a penalty to open the score on the 10th minute and Alain Pierre Courtadon doubled the score seven minutes later. Ryan D’Amato increased the lead on the 63rd, John Paul Barbara added another ten minutes later with Sergio Hili scoring the fifth deep into stoppage time.

At the Luxol Stadium, Attard earned the point they needed to secure promotion as they shared the spoils in a goalless draw with St. Venera Lightnings. On the other hand, Ghaxaq registered a 3-1 win over Mdina Knights in a direct clash for promotion at the Centenary Stadium. Florin Anton put Ghaxaq ahead two minutes from the end of the first half, Noel Tabone doubled the lead on the 57th and Anton added another on the 66th with Jason Good scoring a consolation goal for the Knights ten minutes later.

Santa Lucia beat Mtarfa 4-1 at the Sirens Stadium but their win was not enough to win promotion as they finished fourth, one point behind Attard and Ghaxaq. An own goal put Mtarfa ahead on the 6th but Mohammed Telessi equalised one minute from half-time. Two minutes in added time, Marlon Farrugia made it 2-1 and the same player added another on the 64th. Third Division top scorer Mohammed Telessi increased the lead further on the 79th.

A goal by Matthew Pace on the 11th minute gave Dingli Swallows a narrow win over Xghajra Tornados at the Charles Abela Stadium. On the other hand, Luqa St. Andrew’s defeated Marsaskala 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium. The match came to life in the final minutes as Ramon Bugeja broke the deadlock on the 85th for Luqa, Christian Grech converted a penalty on the 89th to equalise but two minutes in added time, Lydon Sciberras notched the winner.

Meanwhile after the game between Marsaxlokk and Ta’ Xbiex, Marsaxlokk were presented with the BOV Third Division Cup by Charles Azzopardi, Head PR and Marketing at Bank of Valletta and Ludovico Micallef, Vice President of the Malta Football Association.

Marsaxlokk ended their commitments on 52 points, followed by Attard and Ghaxaq on 48, Santa Lucia 47, Mdina and Dingli 44, Marsaskala 33, St. Venera and Luqa 24, Xghajra 23, Kalkara 18, Mtarfa 13 and Ta’ Xbiex 12.