Balzan, Videoton share six goals in 3-3 draw

Balzan were eliminated from the UEFA Europa League with a 5-3 aggregate score by Videoton FC following a 3-3 draw at the Hibernians Stadium on Tuesday in the second leg of the first qualifying round.

Videoton therefore reach the second round of the competition where they will be facing either Nomme Kalju of Estonia of B36 Torshavn of the Faroe Islands.

Marko Micovic, the Balzan coach, opted for no changes following the first leg when Balzan conceded two late goals for a 2-0 defeat with Janjusevic in goal, Bruno and Serrano as central defenders, Savic and Bezzina on the flanks, Ljubomirac, Paul Fenech and Ryan Fenech in midfield with Cadu assisting the two strikers – Kaljevic and Effiong.

Balzan had a great start taking the lead on the 3rd minute when off an assist by Cadu for Ljubomirac, the latter served Bojan Kaljevic who placed the ball at the back of the net.

The visitors however levelled matters on the 15th minute when off a cross from the left by Nego the ball reached Krisztian Geresi who tapped the ball home from close range.

Eight minutes later, Videoton made it 2-1 when Lazovic sent Marko Scepovic through and the latter slotted past Janjusevic.

Danko Lazovic almost added another on the 28th minute but was unlucky to hit the crossbar with a header after his first attempt was blocked.

Twelve minutes in the second half, Balzan restored equilibrium thanks to Alfred Effiong who managed to lob the ball over the Hungarian goalkeeper from the edge of the area.

Paul Fenech then came to the rescue on the 76th minute as he cleared off the goal line a goal-bound header by Scepovic.

Videoton regained the lead five minutes later thanks to veteran Roland Juhasz who headed the ball home following a free kick by Lazovic from the right.

However five minutes from time, Balzan were awarded a penalty after Alfred Effiong was brought down inside the area by Loic Nego and from the penalty spot, Bojan Kaljevic converted to level matters.

BALZAN Ivan Janjusevic, Ryan Fenech, Paul Fenech (84’ Jamie Zerafa), Steve Bezzina, Alfred Effiong, Uris Ljubomirac, Elkin Serrano, Cadu (73’ Lydon Micallef), Milan Savic (72’ Alex da Paixao Alves ‘Lekao’), Bruno, Bojan Kaljevic.

VIDEOTON Adam Kovacsik, Paulo Vinicius, Danko Lazovic (81’ Mirko Maric), Anel Hadzic (85’ Jozsef Varga), Loic Nego, Mate Patkai, Stopira, Roland Juhasz, Marko Scepovic, Krisztian Geresi (59’ Istvan Kovacs), Asmir Suljic.

Referee: Filip Glova (SVK)
Assistant Referees: Martin Balko, Peter Kovac (SVK)
Fourth Official: Mario Vlk (SVK)