Two candidates for MFA president, six for vice-presidents

Two candidates will be running for the post of MFA President in the Malta Football Association’s Annual General Meeting which will be held on July 20.

Former MFA General Secretary and current FIFA Director for Europe Bjorn Vassallo and former MFA Vice-President and current ISA treasurer and council member Dr Chris Bonett will be contesting for the posts after submitting their nomination. Current president Norman Darmanin Demajo had confirmed he would not be standing for re-election.

Meanwhile six candidates will be running for vice-presidents for which there are three vacancies. These are the three current vice-presidents, Ludovico Micallef, Alex Manfre and Dr Matthew Paris and another three candidates – former MFA Vice-President and current Lija Athletic FC president Dr Peter Fenech, former MFA Director of Refereeing and current ISA general secretary Adrian D. Casha and Marsaskala FC vice-president Cory Greenland.

Ivan Mizzi is set to be confirmed as Treasurer as he is uncontested for the post.