Fine 4-1 win for Valletta over Sirens

Valletta were the last team to reach the quarter-finals of the FA Trophy after a 4-1 win over Sirens in the last match from the fourth round at the Centenary Stadium on Sunday.

The Citizens therefore joined Balzan, Birkirkara, Floriana, Gudja United, Hamrun Spartans, Hibernians and First Division side Pieta’ Hotspurs in the quarter-finals.

Valletta took the lead on the 7th minute when off a Miguel Angel Alba cross from the right, Bojan Kaljevic’s powerful header beat goalkeeper David Cassar.

The Citizens doubled the score on the 27th minute thanks to Matteo Piciollo whose scissors-kick beat the Sirens goalkeeper following a cross by Kaljevic.

Just before the end of the first half, Valletta were awarded an indirect freekick inside the area but Steve Borg hit sky high.

On the 68th minute, Romeu Romao hit just over the bar from an indirect freekick from inside the area.

Bojan Kaljevic made it 3-0 with a fine shot from outside the area ten minutes from time.

Sirens pulled one back on the 89th minute thanks to Sergio Raphael dos Anjos who hit low from inside the area after a freekick by Ryan Grech was not held by Cini.

Three minutes in added time, substitute Jhony Moises Cano Barrios added another with a low shot from the left when served by Steve Borg.

VALLETTA Yenz Cini, Steve Borg, Ryan Camilleri, Bojan Kaljevic, Matteo Piciollo (83’ Jhony Moises Cano Barrios), Shaun Dimech, Jean Borg, Enmy Pena Beltre, Nicholas Pulis (85’ Santiago Malano), Miguel Angel Alba (71’ Kevin Tulimieri), Triston Caruana.
Subs not used: Reeves Cini, Jeremy Micallef, Joseph Zerafa, Ryan Tonna.
Coach: Darren Abdilla

SIRENS David Cassar, Ryan Grech, Sergio Raphael dos Anjos, Emmanuel Okoye, Ricardo Silva Faria (70’ Luke Sciberras), Abdullahi Ige Adeshina, Edward Herrera (57’ Adrian Borg), Romeu Pericles Romao, Romario Lucas Memezes, Thiago Espindola de Paula, Flavio Silva Cheveresan.
Subs not used: Miguel Montfort, Luke Grech, Jake Camilleri, Daniel Sant, Larken Friggieri
Coach: Steve D’Amato

Referee: Emanuel Grech
Assistant Referees: Thomas Debono, James Muscat
Fourth Official: Matthew Degabriele
Yellow Cards: Pulis, Kaljevic, Raphael, Thiaguinho, Camilleri, Pena Beltre, Adeshina, Grech, Borg, Okoye, Cini
Attendance: 906