Anicic names final squad for UEFA Futsal EURO tournament

Malta futsal coach Zeljko Anicic has announced his final 14-man squad for the UEFA Futsal EURO 2022 Qualifying Group C Tournament, being played at the National School of Sport in Pembroke between Wednesday and Saturday. Greece, Poland and Sweden are the other teams in Malta’s group.

The players in the Malta squad have been training regularly for the past three weeks in preparation for the tournament, also playing two home friendly matches against Bulgaria. After drawing the first match 2-2 last Sunday, Malta won the second friendly 3-1 on Monday.

The squad selected by Anicic, who took over as national futsal coach last month, is made up of players from champions Luxol St Andrews, Valletta, University of Malta and Swieqi United.

Luxol St Andrews are the most represented side with seven players called up to the national squad, Valletta and University of Malta have three players and Swieqi United one.

Malta open their commitments in this UEFA Futsal Euro Tournament on Wednesday against Sweden before taking on Greece the following day. The last group match for the hosts is against Poland on Saturday, February 1.

Entrance is free.


Clint Mifsud (Luxol St Andrews Futsal), Stefan Vella (Luxol St Andrews Futsal).

Marrwan Telisi (Luxol St Andrews Futsal), Giancarlo Sammut (Luxol St Andrews Futsal), Jovica Milijic (Valletta Futsal), Melvin Borg (University of Malta), Dylan Musù (University of Malta), Karl Sciortino (University of Malta).

Carl Azzopardi (Luxol St Andrews Futsal), Andy Mangion (Luxol St Andrews Futsal), Andrè Ciancio (Valletta Futsal), George Frendo (Valletta Futsal), Firas Aboulezz (Swieqi Futsal), Mark Zammit (Luxol St Andrews Futsal).

Venue: National School of Sport, Pembroke

Wednesday, 29th January, 2020
17.00 – Poland vs Greece
20.00 – Sweden vs Malta

Thursday, 30th January, 2020
17.00 – Sweden vs Poland
20.00 – Malta vs Greece

Saturday, 1st February, 2020
16.00 – Greece vs Sweden
19.00 – Malta vs Poland