Floriana FC awarded BOV Premier League championship 2019/20

Floriana FC, leaders at the end of Match-Day 20 in the BOV Premier League, were awarded the title after the Council of the Malta Football Association voted in favour of a proposal stating that teams who were lying at the top of the respective table would be declared champions. This decision was taken by the Council of the Malta Football Association on Monday – a week after the Executive Committee voted unanimously to terminate season 2019/20.

Forty-seven Council members voted in favour of the proposal and eighteen against. Six abstained and four did not vote.

This was the 26th title for the Greens, who had earlier been confirmed as Malta’s representative in the UEFA Champions League this summer. For Floriana, this was the first title since season 1992/93.

Zejtun Corinthians were awarded the title in the BOV First Division, Marsa the championship of the BOV Second Division and Attard the title of the BOV Third Division.

Earlier during the meeting, Zejtun and Lija Athletic were promoted to the Premier League while Marsa along with Marsaxlokk and San Gwann were promoted to the First Division which is set to be renamed Challenge League.

Birkirkara were awarded the BOV Women’s League title.

In an opening speech, MFA President Bjorn Vassallo gave a timeline of events over what happened over the past weeks since the association was forced to suspend football and eventually terminate all competitions. Vassallo explained that UEFA have been informed and the Maltese participants in the European competitions have now been confirmed.

Floriana will be therefore representing Malta in the UEFA Champions League; Valletta, Hibernians and Sirens will take part in the UEFA Europa League; Birkirkara will represent Malta in the UEFA Women’s Champions League and Luxol Futsal in the UEFA Futsal Champions League.

Eligible to vote were the the Council members representing the 53 member clubs, the two Council members of each of the GFA, Inter Amateur Soccer Competition, Malta Amateur Football Association, Industries Soccer Association, Employees Sports Association, District Football League Youth FA, Futsal Malta Association, MFCA and the MFRA, and the Council members of the Gozo YFA, Malta Beach Soccer Association and Malta Masters Football. The officers of the association decided not to vote while the Council members representing the Malta Football Referees Associations abstained.