Historic promotion for Zejtun Corinthians

Zejtun Corinthians will be playing in the Premier League next season after the vote on the first proposal meant that teams which stood in promotion spots would be promoted.

BOV First Division leaders Zejtun and second-placed Lija Athletic will therefore join the fourteen clubs in the Premier League which will therefore feature sixteen teams for season 2020/21.

Marsa, Marsaxlokk and San Gwann secured promotion from the BOV Second Division to the set-to-be renamed First Division – the Challenge League.

Although usually two teams are promoted from Division 2 and Marsaxlokk and San Gwann shared second place, following a proposal of the Executive Committee, based on Article 49 (xv) and 161 of the Rules Governing Competitions, the proposal said that in this case, three teams would be promoted rather than two.

For next year, the Challenge League would have fifteen teams.

On the other hand, Second and Third Division teams will be playing in the newly-proposed National Amateur League. This league will feature twenty two teams next season divided into three sections – one group of eight teams and two groups of seven.

These decisions were part of the first proposal which dealt mainly with the issue of relegation. Tarxien Rainbows managed to avoid relegation after the Council voted in favour of a proposal which stated that for this season, there will be no relegations in the various leagues organised by the association. Forty five voted in favour of Annex B of the first of three proposals which are being put forward in front of the Council to determine the outcome for the various leagues.

Eighteen voted in favour of Annex A which stated that teams who had already been mathematically relegated should be demoted as determined on the field of play. Six abstained while five Council members did not vote.