MFA Council to decide leagues outcome this evening

Follow updates on on Facebook and Twitter

A week after the MFA Executive Committee voted unanimously to terminate season 2019/20 and hence the BOV Premier League and the FA Trophy, the MFA Council will be voting on Monday to decide the outcome of all football leagues.

The Council members representing the 53 member clubs, the two Council members of each of the GFA, Inter Amateur Soccer Competition, Malta Amateur Football Association, Industries Soccer Association, Employees Sports Association, District Football League Youth FA, Futsal Malta Association, MFCA and the MFRA, and the Council members of the Gozo YFA, Malta Beach Soccer Association and Malta Masters Football are eligible to vote with the President and the officers of the association expected to abstain.

Council members will be voting on whether they agree that teams who have already been mathematically relegated should be relegated or not (in the latter case, there would be no relegation from any competition). If the first option is chosen, Tarxien Rainbows would be relegated from the BOV Premier League.

Council members would also vote on whether the teams ending in the first place in the respective league should be declared champions despite the premature termination of the competition or not. If yes, Floriana would be declared BOV Premier League champions, Zejtun Corinthians champions of the BOV First Division, Marsa champions of the BOV Second Division and Attard champions of the BOV Third Division. Birkirkara would be declared champions in the BOV Women’s League.

Another issue to be decided would be whether the sporting outcome for the Gozo FA Leagues 2019/20 would be as agreed by the GFA and Gozitan clubs (with thirteen votes in favour and one against) that Nadur Youngsters would be declared First Division Champions, Sannat Lions would be declared Second Division champions; no teams would be relegated from the First Division and two teams will be promoted from the Second Division.

The meeting, held via videoconference, will start at 16:30. Voting will be held through a software acquired by the association for this reason.