Trustin Farrugia Cann is new MFRA president

Trustin Farrugia Cann is the new president of the Malta Referees Association.

Farrugia Cann was elected to the post during the associations’s EGM which was held on Monday. He obtained 80 out of the votes with the other candidate, Paul Caruana, obtaining 33 votes.

Farrugia Cann, who was serving as vice-president last season, is the 12th president of the association and he will replace Mario Apap after the latter has resigned from the post following his appointment as Vice-Chairman of the Malta FA Referees Committee.

Meanwhile Roberto Vella fills in the uncontested post for an ordinary member within the committee following the resignation of William Debattista who will also form part of the Malta FA Referees Committee for the coming season.

Farrugia Cann has established himself as one of the top referees in the country and for the last four years he was on the FIFA Panel. Last year, he was also promoted to the UEFA Category Two and is therefore able to control international friendly matches and group matches from the UEFA Europa League.