Third successive win for Birkirkara

Birkirkara registered a third win on the trot as they defeated Senglea Athletic 2-1 at the National Stadium on Sunday. A win which puts the Stripes in the eighth place.

Senglea, on the other hand, remain anchored at the bottom of the table with just two points.

Birkirkara took the lead five minutes from the end of the first half when off a pass by Alex da Paixao Alves from the right, Alan Abela tried to clear the ball into safety, Caio Prado served Yannick Yankam who slammed the ball home past goalkeeper Matthew Farrugia.

The Stripes doubled the score four minutes in the second half thanks to a direct freekick by Claudio Bonanni which beat the Senglea custodian.

On the 75th minute, Senglea pulled one back when Wilkerson Gomes sent Kevaughn Atkinson through and the latter slotted the ball past goalkeeper Alessandro Guarnone.

Four minutes from time, both sides were reduced to ten men after Andre Scicluna and Paul Mbong were cautioned. For Scicluna, this was the second yellow card and was therefore sent off and as he was on his way out, Mbong passed remarks in his direction and the referee gave marching orders to the Birkirkara striker as well.

SENGLEA Matthew Farrugia, Nikola Terzin, Zachary Cassar, Alan Abela (56′ Luca Brincat), Kevaughn Atkinson, Igor Misan, Luis Carlos Riascos, Andre Scicluna, Dejan Kukic, David Xuereb (69′ Ricardo Martin), Wilkerson Gomes.
Subs not used: James Pisani, Joseph Attard, Charlo Buttigieg, Jan Tanti, Luca Brincat, Lee Galea.
Coach: Clive Mizzi
Asst. Coach: Ryan Newell

B’KARA Alessandro Guarnone, Yannick Yankam, Luke Montebello, Roderick Briffa, Kurt Zammit, Federico Falcone (71′ Francesco Verde), Cain Attard, Claudio Bonanni, Caio Henrique Prado Rocha, Oscar Carniello, Alex da Paixao Alves (43′ Paul Mbong).
Subs not used: Miguel Spiteri, Enrico Pepe, Neil Friggieri, Glending Farrugia, Owen Sciberras.
Coach: Andre Paus
Asst. Coach: Jonathan Holland

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Mark Ciantar
Fourth Official: Alex Johnson
Yellow Cards: Wilkerson, Riascos, Abela, Scicluna, Prado, Mbong, Farrugia
Red Cards: 86′ Andre Scicluna, Paul Mbong
BOV Player of the Match: Yannick Yankam