Matthew Guillaumier is the MFA Footballer of the Year 2020/21

Hamrun Spartans and Malta international midfielder Matthew Guillaumier won the MFA Footballer of the Year award. The award was presented at the end of the association’s Annual General Meeting at the Dolmen Hotel on Wednesday.

The Spartans won also another two awards – Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares who was voted Foreign Player of the Year and Mark Buttigieg Coach of the Year.

The Young Player of the Year award went to Alexander Satariano of Sliema Wanderers who has just moved to Frosinone in Italy.

Nicholas Schembri of Attard won the Amateur League Best Player award while Eduardo Riano Garcia of Swieqi United was voted Futsal Player of the Year.

Kevin Ante Rosero won the award for Top Scorer in the Premier League, Jamie Lee Micallef (Mgarr) Top Scorer in the Amateur League Group A, Timothy Thomas (Msida) top scorer in the Amateur League Group B and Nicholas Schembri (Attard) top scorer in the Amateur League Group C and the Amateur League overall.

Awards were only presented for the leagues which were completed, or deemed as completed.

Meanwhile, mementos were presented to the teams who were leading the table when leagues were brought to an abrupt halt, namely

Challenge League: Marsa FC
Women’s League: Birkirkara FC
Youth League Section A: San Gwann
Youth League Section B: Qormi
Youth League Section C: Tarxien Rainbows
Youth League Section D: Gharghur
Women’s Under-19 League: Birkirkara FC
Women’s Under-15 League: Birkirkara FC