Malta women earn a point in a 2-2 draw with Bosnia and Herzegovina

The Malta women’s national team came back from two goals down to earn a point in a 2-2 draw with Bosnia and Herzegovina in a match from Group E of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday.

The visitors managed to take the lead on the 5th minute thanks Milena Nikolic who hit home from close range following a freekick from the left.

On the 32nd minute, Maja Jelcic doubled the score with a low shot from the edge of the area which beat the Malta goalkeeper.

Five minutes from half-time, Rachel Cuschieri received a cross by Alishia Sultana but her conclusion was neutralised by Dijana Haracic. 

One minute in the second half, Maria Farrugia tested Haracic with a shot from outside the area but on the 59th, Bosnia Herzegovina were unlucky to hit the upright through NIkolic. Malta, on the other hand, went close thanks to Dorianne Theuma whose effort was turned into a corner by Haracic.

Ten minutes from time, Malta pulled one back thanks to a great goal by Maria Farrugia  who concluded a good move on the left with a shot from outside the area which hit the bar before ending at the back of the net.  

Five minutes in added time, Malta notched the equaliser when off a Rachel Cuschieri corner from the left, Stephania Farrugia hit home.

Malta plays Russia away from home on October 21 and five days later, Malta plays Azerbaijan in another match away from home. 

MALTA Patricia Ebejer, Emma Lipman, Stefania Farrugia, Dorianne Theuma, Rachel Cuschieri, Alishia Sultana, Maria Farrugia, Shona Farrugia, Charlene Zammit, Brenda Borg (66’ Ann-Marie Said), Nicole Sciberras.

BOSNIA HERZEGOVINA Dijana Haracic, Nikolina Dijakovic, Melisa Hasabegovic, Djula Velagic, Dajana Spasojevic (76’ Marija Damjanovic), Marija Ana Milinkovic, Milena Nikolic, Selma Kapetanovic, Merjema Medic (90’ Andrea Grebenar), Amela Krso, Maja Jelcic.

Referee: Lina Lehtovaara (FIN)

Assistant Referees: Heini Hyvonen, Tonja Weckstrom (FIN)

Fourth Official: Minka Vekkeli (FIN)