BOV National Amateur League: Gharghur march on in Group A

Leaders Gharghur keep marching on in Group A of the BOV National Amateur League as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 4-0 at the Sirens Stadium on Saturday.

Kurt Camilleri opened the score on the 9th minute. Four minutes in the second half, Davide Mula scored their second goal, Jayden Aquilina made it 3-0 on the 68th and Ikechukwu Igwemeke sealed the issue with another goal one minute in added time.

At the Luxol Stadium, Dingli Swallows and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw.

Matthew Borg put Dingli ahead on the 75th but six minutes from time, Sunday Uforma Ubuwere levelled matters for Birzebbuga.

Gharghur lead the way with 17 points, followed by Kalkara on 13, Birzebbuga 12, Attard and Msida 7, Dingli 6, Xghajra and Ta’ Xbiex 5, Siggiewi 4 and Ghaxaq 1. Attard had nine points deducted.

In Group B, goals by Nestor Luis Silva Canas on the 2nd minute and Daniel Cremona on the half hour handed Mtarfa a 2-0 win over Mellieha at the Sirens Stadium.

At the Luxol Stadium, Zurrieq defeated Mdina Knights 2-1.

Lazar Doric converted a penalty to put Mdina ahead on the 29th but Miguel Simiana equalised on the 37th and Andre Joe Cutajar made it 2-1 on the 57th.

Zurrieq lead the way with 16 points, followed by Marsaskala on 15, Mtarfa 12, Zabbar and Mdina 9, Mellieha 6, Qormi 5, Sta. Venera 3 and Kirkop 1.