Twelve Premier League players suspended

Twelve Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Oualid El Hasni (Floriana), Claude Dielna, Emerson Marcelina and Karl Micallef (Hamrun), Thaylor Aldama, Gabriel Izquier Artiles and Jake Grech (Hibs), Luis Riascos (Mosta), Patrick Silva Mota (Santa Lucia), Jacob Walker (Sirens), Danny Holla (Sliema) and Jean Borg (Valletta) are therefore ruled out of this weekend’s matches.

Dielna, Marcelina and Micallef are ruled out of the Spartans’ next match against Gzira while Hibs could not count on Thaylor Izquier and Grech for the clash with Sliema who will be without Holla. Riascos and Mota are ruled out of Mosta vs Santa Lucia while Walker and Borg will skip Sirens vs Valletta.

Gzira United team manager Marlon Galea was banned for six matches.

In the Challenge League, Jeremy Busuttil amd Ronald Makalysten Melo Costa (Mqabba), Kyle Bartolo (San Gwann), Rafael de Fex (St. George’s), Andrew Agius (Qrendi), Ezekiel Tawiah (Senglea), Miguel D’Alessandro (St. Andrews), and Frank Temile (Swieqi) were suspended for one match while Marsaxlokk team manager Kenneth Portelli and Rabat coach Vesko Petrovic were banned for two matches.

On the other hand, in the National Amateur League, Daniele Vittorio Marsala (Dingli), Rio Micallef (Ghaxaq), Edward Bugeja (Msida), Gaynor D’Amato (Xghajra), Miguel Mamo (Qrendi) and Ivan Bojovic (Zurrieq) were suspended for one match. Sta. Venera official Raymond Farrugia was also handed a one-match ban.