Gzira United held by Marsaxlokk

Following a 3-3 draw with Gudja United last week, Gzira United had to settle for another draw as they were held in a goalless draw by Marsaxlokk at the National Stadium on Sunday.

Following the defeat to Mosta, Marsaxlokk had no less than five changes as Jose Maria Gobbi, Ayrton Attard, Peter Xuereb, Leandro Aguirre and Dejan Vukovic were all named in the starting line-up, replacing Fredrick Tabone, Timmy Tabone Desira, Jeferson, Emerson Vella and the suspended Santiago Ferraris.

Gzira, also, had four changes as Luke Tabone, Marcelo Dias, Maxuell Maia and Jackson Mendoza replaced Steve Piusani, Clive Gauci, Toni Kolega and the suspended Luis Riascos.

In the first half, Marsaxlokk went close with a header by Walter Serrano and a freekick by Aguirre which were both saved by Zarkov while a Nikolai Muscat freekick was parried by Gobbi.

In the second half, Maxuel Maia concluded a solo effort by rounding two defenders but his shot was saved by Gobbi and nine minutes from time, a Clive Gauci effort was cleared into safety by Emerson Vella. In added time, a freekick by Toni Kolega was parried by the Marsaxlokk goalkeeper.

>> Gzira United vs Marsaxlokk match card

>> BOV Premier League Results, Fixtures, Tables & Scorers