Izibet named title sponsors of National Amateur League

The Malta Football Association signed a new agreement with IZIBET which covers the naming rights of the National Amateur League, the third tier in the National League pyramid. The partnership covers three seasons of the IZIBET Amateur League, as the competition will be known.

Malta FA President Bjorn Vassallo expressed his satisfaction at the fact that once more IZIBET have shown their trust in the local game, especially at this level which most touches the communities in our towns and villages.

“This commercial agreement will enable the National Amateur League to build its own identity withing the National League, which will carry its own branding, matching the other two tiers above it.”

He explained that “The proceeds from the sponsorship will be distributed to participating clubs in order to support their efforts in keeping communities engaged through their involvement in their respective clubs”.

Photos courtesy of domenic aquilina / Malta FA

IZIBET’s Chief Commercial Officer Franco Degabriele, stated that IZIBET was very excited to commence this new sponsorship partnership with the Association, following a very successful sponsorship of the FA Trophy last year. Sponsoring the National League was yet another opportunity for the company to support community football and forms an integral part of the Corporate Social Responsibility Charter of the company.

“Our intention is to support clubs at the local community level as they face the stern challenges of financing their structures year in year out. The work undertaken by volunteers at the community level needs all the support it can get and we are proud to be assisting this initiative for the forthcoming years.”

This is the National Amateur League’s third season in its format. The first winners were Luqa St Andrew’s who topped the table in the National Amateur League B to obtain automatic promotion and went on to beat both Mgarr United and Melita in the Championship Play-offs to lift the cup.  Zurrieq were crowned National Amateur League winners of Season 2021/22, after having defeated Attard in a much-awaited decider.  Zurrieq won a strong Group B league, whilst Attard won Group A and a decider was needed to determine the overall winner in front of a sizeable crowd.

Season 2022/23 sees 11 teams in Group A and 10 in Group B. The overall winner of each group will automatically be promoted however a decider is needed to determine who the overall champion will be.