Malta FA Awards 2023 launched

The Malta FA launched the Malta FA Annual Awards 2023 during a press conference held at the Centenary Stadium on Thursday.

During the event which will be held on Friday 5th May at the Dolmen Hotel, the Malta FA will present the awards for Footballer of the Year and the Female Player of the Year for the 69th and 26th time, respectively.

Malta FA General Secretary Dr. Angelo Chetcuti announced that the Executive Board has approved a number of amendments to the Malta FA Awards as outlined in the Malta FA Statute. Amendments include the number of awards and the selection process. The Malta FA Female Player of the Year award will be given the same importance as its male counterpart, according to Dr. Chetcuti, and the trophies will be the same. The selection process for this awards has also undergone significant changes.

Photo courtesy of Mark Zammit Cordina

Malta FA Vice President Dr Matthew Paris added that starting from this edition, all Maltese players — both those competing domestically as well as those competing in international leagues — are eligible to win the Malta FA Player of the Year award.

Twelve honours are up for grabs this year, as stated Dr. Paris. These being:

  • Youth League Best Player
  • Young Player of the Year
  • GFA Player of the Year
  • IZIBET Amateur League Best Player
  • BOV Challenge League Best Player
  • Foreign Player of the Year
  • Best Goal of the Year Award
  • Coach of the Year Award
  • Fair Play Award
  • President’s Award
  • MFA Footballer of the Year Award
  • MFA Female Player of the Year Award

The Malta FA Awards will also be streamed on the Malta FA social media pages.