Birkirkara crowned Under-17 champions

Birkirkara were crowned champions of the BNF Under-17 League A following a 2-2 draw with their nearest rivals Valletta at a packed Centenary Stadium on Sunday.

The Stripes therefore retained a two-point lead over the Citizens with Melita finishing third in the table.

Dr Matthew Paris, Malta FA Vice-President, presented the winners’ trophy to Birkirkara.

Photo courtesy of

Meanwhile Hibernians and Naxxar Lions were relegated to Section B.

Floriana won the BNF Under-17 B after defeating Balzan 4-0 in their last game. They ended their commitments with 47 points, three ahead of runners-up Sliema Wanderers who have also been promoted to Section A.

Zabbar St. Patrick and Ghaxaq were relegated to Section C.

Pembroke Athleta won Section C, finishing two points ahead of Zebbug Rangers. Luqa St. Andrew’s and Siggiewi were relegated to Section D.

Meanwhile Gozo were crowned winners of the BNF Under-17 League D after defeating Zurrieq 3-1 in a championship decider after both teams ended their commitments on level points.

The season will come to an end on Sunday with the final of the Under-17 Knock-Out between Valletta and St. Andrews.