Three teams through to National Amateur Cup Round of 16

Birzebbuga St. Peter’s, St. George’s and Kalkara United secured a place in the Round of 16 of the National Amateur Cup as they registered wins in three matches from the Preliminary Round on Friday.

The competition is open for teams from the IZIBET Amateur League and the BOV Gozo Football League Second Division.

At the Centenary Stadium, Birzebbuga St. Peter’s defeated San Gwann 2-1. Cedric Zahra put Birzebbuga ahead on the 75th and although Hassane Idrisse Cisse equalised on the 79th, Lee Joe Schembri notched the winner on the 90th.

Birzebbuga face St. Lawrence Spurs or Marsaskala in the next round.

In another match at the Centenary Stadium, St. George’s came from behind to beat Rabat Ajax 2-1. Aidan Azzopardi put Rabat ahead on the 26th but Gianluca Borg equalised four minutes from the end of the first half and Neil Buttigieg notched the winner three minutes from time.

St. George’s will be meeting Qormi or Mtarfa in the next round.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Kalkara United defeated Gharghur 2-1 after extra-time. Matthew Borda handed Gharghur the lead on the 31st but Antoine Barbara equalised on the 65th to force extra-time. Matthew Degiorgio notched the winner ten minutes in the second half of extra-time.

In the Round of 16, Kalkara take on Vittoriosa or Pembroke.