Another four teams through to National Amateur Cup Round of 16

Mqabba, Marsaskala, Kirkop United, Dingli Swallows, Ta’ Xbiex and Victoria Hotspurs joined Birzebbuga St. Peter’s, St. George’s and Kalkara United in the Round of 16 of the National Amateur Cup as they registered wins in matches from the Preliminary Round on Saturday.

The competition is open for teams from the IZIBET Amateur League and the BOV Gozo Football League Second Division.

At the Sirens Stadium, Mqabba defeated Zebbug Rovers 6-1. Andres Tenorio Viveros scored twice on the 10th and 28th to give Mqabba a two-goal lead. Miguel Angel Moreno Ampudia reduced the gap on the 36th but one minute in the second half, Byron Madu made it 3-1. Tenorio scored another two goals on the 74th and 76th with Nathan Frendo scoring the sixth goal six minutes from time.

Mqabba will be facing Gharb Rangers in the next round.

Marsaskala eliminated St. Lawrence Spurs with a goal by Joshua Micallef eleven minutes in the second half at the Kercem Arkafort Stadium and will now face Birzebbuga St. Peter’s in the next round.

A Giovanni Galea penalty on the 12th minute handed Kirkop United a narrow win over Mellieha at the Charles Abela Stadium to set up a clash with Victoria Hotspurs.

The Hotspurs qualified for the Round of 16 after defeating Munxar Falcons 2-0 at the Kercem Ajax Stadium courtesy of Wellington Valentim de Sousa on the 59th and Dylan Mercieca on the 84th.

Dingli Swallows set up a clash with Mgarr United after defeating Siggiewi 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Daniele Vittorio Marsala put Dingli ahead on the 15th and although Shylon Vella equalised on the 39th, Neil Said notched the winner on the 79th.

Ta’ Xbiex, on the other hand, defeated Mdina Knights on penalties following a 2-2 draw. Melchior Tonna put Mdina ahead on the 5th but Stefi Cale equalised seven minutes later. Christian Wismayer made it 2-1 for Ta’ Xbiex on the 64th but nine minutes later, Antonello Demanuele levelled matters. With the result still draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time, the penalty shoot-out had to determine the winner. Pavel Zerpa Marquez, Melchior Tonna, Matthew Scicluna and Richard Deschrijver scored for Mdina with Andrea Sultana missing his penalty. Stef Cale, Leon Abela, Nicky Vella, Christian Wismayer and Johan Grech scored Ta’ Xbiex’s penalties.