National Amateur Cup: Marsaskala eliminate Birzebbuga after penalty shoot-out

Ghaxaq, Kirkop United, Marsaskala, Mgarr United, Mqabba and Ta’ Xbiex secured a place in the quarter-finals of the National Amateur Cup after they emerged as winners in the Round of 16 matches on Saturday.

At the Sirens Stadium, Marsaskala defeated Birzebbuga St. Peter’s 5-4 on penalties following a 2-2 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time. Fabrizio Zammit put Marsaskala ahead on the 28th minutes and Joseph Chetcuti doubled the score two minutes in the second half. However Samuel Saldanha scored twice on the 68th and 81st to level matters. 

Eman Camilleri, Dario Aquilina, Fabrizio Zammit, Ryan Spiteri and Nobukatsu Tsuchiya scored for Marsaskala while Cedric Zahra, Gabriel Borg, Keith Muscat and Samuel Saldanha scored for Birzebbuga with Alejandro Brincat missing the only penalty.

Mgarr United registered a most comfortable 8-0 win over Dingli Swallows at the Sirens Stadium. Kyle Frendo opened the score on the 14th minute and Christian Ebisindor Saint doubled the scoring four minutes later. Frendo scored again on the 20th and towards the end of the first half, Mgarr scored another two goals courtesy of Jurgen Suda on the 43rd and Liam Portelli two minutes later. In the second half, Saint scored another two goals on the 49th and 67th while Suda added another on the 67th.

A goal four minutes in added time by Kieran Simon Conti in added time handed Ta’ Xbiex a dramatic winover Xghajra Tornados at the Charles Abela Stadium while at the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Mqabba beat Gharb Rangers 2-0 thanks to goals by Byron Madu on the 73rd and Andres Tenorio Viveros three minutes later.

Kirkop United registered a dramatic 4-3 win over Victoria Hotspurs after extra-time at the Charles Abela Stadium. Shaun Attard put the Hotspurs ahead on the 3rd minute and Lorenzo Atzori doubled the score on the 24th. However Neil Friggieri reduced the gap on the 57th and Giovanni Galea equalised on the 72nd. The match went into extra-time and two minutes in the first half of extra-time, Ryan Dalli put Kirkop ahead for the first time. Wellington Valentim de Sousa equalised nine minutes later but in the last minute of the second half of extra-time, Ryan Dalli notched the winner for Kirkop.

At the Kercem Ajax Stadium, a hat-trick by Shamizen Buhagiar handed Ghaxaq a 3-2 win over Sannat Lions. Buhagiar scored on the 15th, 51st and 59th to put Ghaxaq three goals ahead but Sannat reduced the gap thanks to goals by Gabriel Debrincat on the 70th and Boubacar Kanta three minutes in added time.

>> National Amateur Cup