Seven Premier League players suspended

Seven Premier League players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches. 

Joseph Mbong (Hamrun) was handed a three-match ban, Karl Micallef (Gudja) was banned for two matches while Ivan Bozovic (Balzan), Ali Diakite and Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara), Christian Ndubuisi Nnaji (Mosta) and Sven Xerri (Santa Lucia) were suspended for one match.

Mbong will miss the next three matches against Marsaxlokk, Birkirkara and Gzira while Karl Micallef is ruled out of the games against Balzan and Naxxar. Birkirkara will be without Pepe and Diakite for the game agaisnt Naxxar. Mosta will lack Nnaji for the clash with Gzira while Xerri is ruled out of the match against Valletta.

In the Challenge League, Rafael Stockmann Favero (Lija), Kurt Zahra (Msida), Zean Leonardi (Pieta’), Sammy Elfarsi (Swieqi) were banned for one match.

On the other hand, Jeremy Busuttil (Mtarfa) was suspended fgor three matches while Jean Claude Vella (Kirkop) and Zack Calleja (Xghajra) were banned for one match in the National Amateur League.